How Does Appreciation Engine Tell the Difference Between Signups and Logins?

Let's say that a member has already signed up to your website using one of their social media accounts and they have forgotten. If they try to register with that same account again, they are signed into their existing account instead.

If a member already has an account, then registers using a separate social media profile, AE will attempt to identify and merge the two accounts. For more information see our article about matching and merging accounts.

AE Connect's built-in widget handles logins and signups automatically, out of the box. However, if you or your web developer has created a custom implementation of AE JS or are using Appreciation Engine's REST API to handle user registration, you may need to manually consider logins and signups. See our REST API documentation for more information.

How did we do?