What are Permissions?
You may see a few notes referring to "permissions" in the AE Dashboard and on social apps. These are a service's custom API permissions - each one is a specific permission regarding what information you can access on the service's API.
For example, Spotify uses permissions to give access to various aspects of their user's information, such as their library, things they have recently listened to, their playlists and so on. Each of these elements has a corresponding permission.
The user will see your request for permissions - each line below referencing a specific Spotify permission - when registering with your app through AE:
AE handles these permissions by automatically assigning all of the permissions required by that service to perform our social tracking. These are referred to in the dashboard as "default permissions" and you can see them by opening the service popup for an individual service in your dashboard app:
Advanced Permission Changes
You can override any of these default permissions using the form in the popup above. For example, your app may only be interested in gathering users' Spotify Playlist data, in which case you could just specify the playlist permissions. This would be reflected in the permissions the user sees when signing up.
Note: when you override the default permissions, only the permissions you have specified will be granted. In the example given in the previous paragraph, you would no longer have access to your user's library data etc.